• Stop coping, and start posting. Register an account in order to gain full access to Lookism's features.

Click to edit

Don Draper

Regular
Just random courses. Haven't declared a major yet

Mona

Regular
Don Draper said:

Oh man....

Don't waste your time like that seriously...

It's a huge fucking waste of time. 

Honestly....

What you can do is this...

If you could care less about a career and more about slaying in college...

Do fashion design....

After college, act like a huge fucking homo and you'll get hired somewhere good due to affirmative action.

Don Draper said:

Yeah just drop out and join the military or something. 

Honestly I wish I'd dropped out of high school at age 15.  School is just one big ponzi scheme designed to steal your time and money.  

I earned a STEM degree from a pretty good school and it took me 6 months and 500+ resume applications to land a job.  Yeah I fell for the STEMcuck meme(I admit it, @"harvardbusinessschool").  I'm making OK money nothing to write home about.  I'd be making around the same had I just gone into the trades.

In short,

Bachelor's degrees = toiler paper
Master's degree without solid work experience = toiler paper 
phd, by the time you earn one you're 35 = toilet paper

College is only worth it if you can land a prestigious internship and make lots of connections.  If you can't, just don't even bother.

Molasses

Joke
Having a degree in your resume is always better than not having any.

Get what you can get and move on, unless you're getting into massive debt.

Molasses said:

I'd much rather have 5 years of experience as an electrician on my resume than 80% of college degrees.  If he's almost finished the degree then by all means complete it. 

Here's how I'd rank it from best to worst

A degree from an elite school >>>>>>  trades >=  A stemcuck degree > Sitting home and wanking for 4 years >>>>>>>> a degree in sociology/English lit./history etc

Don Draper said: